Saturday, August 8, 2015

Dare to Rock (Dare to Love #7) by Carly Phillips & GIVEAWAY

Published August 4, 2015

Avery Dare lives a quiet life in Miami as an online fashion/makeup video blogger. She has good friends, a close, large family and if her love life is lacking, she likes it that way. But when she receives an invitation to one of her ex's concerts along with an invitation to meet him back stage, she decides to take the risk… and comes face to face with the reality of his rock star lifestyle - the press, the crowds, and the half naked groupies.

At eighteen, Grey Kingston left everything he knew and loved behind to seek fame and fortune as a rock star, and he found it as the lead guitarist and singer for the band, Tangled Royal. Fans adore him, women throw themselves at him, and he can afford everything he couldn’t growing up. Yet at the height of his career, he’s ready to walk away and return home to a simpler life… and the woman he left behind, if he can convince her to give him another chance.

Except moving on isn’t as easy as Grey would like. When Avery is threatened by a stalker, it becomes evident Grey’s fans not only don’t want him to retire, they don’t want Avery in his life either. And Avery isn’t sure she wants the pressures that are part of Grey’s life… but she doesn’t want to lose him again, either. Can their recently renewed love survive the fallout?

But Meg’s future is one Scott has accepted he’ll never have, even if his growing feelings say otherwise …

My Thoughts…

Although this is part of a series, this is the first Dare to Love book I have read.   Like with most series that I read, I did not feel like I missed out on anything I know that I could have enjoyed it even more if I had read the entire series.    Carly Phillips gives enough background on the characters that I could dive right into the story and not wonder what was happening or where that thought had come from.    
Avery is a great character.    She is strong and faithful not only to Grey, but to her siblings and friends also.    Even when doubt starts to set in on her she knows that she has to handle and come to terms with whatever is going on.  It would have been easier to run away, hide, and never come out again she manages to continue to her life her way.    

Grey is, of course, the best character in the book.   He is hot, sexy, and alpha male in the best way possible.     He is not the cocky musician that a lot of other authors portray them as.   What turned me on the most is just the fact that he stood by Avery.   It didn’t matter what was happening in her life or who was telling him to back off he just stayed there, by her side.    

While the sex scenes are crazy hot, they were tasteful.   There were some dirty words, but they were exchanged in the heat of the moment, not taken to be foul.    The love between Avery and Grey was evident in everything they did.  

I was not ready for this story to end.  I wanted more.     There could have been more about the stalker.   I wanted to know what happen to Simon.    Her brothers and sister each have their own book, but I could have handled more about them also.   

I recommend this series.  I know that I will be checking out the rest of this series.  

About Carly Phillips:

After a successful fifteen year career with various New York publishing houses, and over 40 sexy contemporary romance novels published, N.Y. Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Carly Phillips is now an Indie author who writes to her own expectations and that of her readers. She continues the tradition of hot men and strong women and plans to publish many more sizzling stories. Carly lives in Purchase, NY with her family, two nearly adult daughters and two crazy dogs who star on her Facebook Fan Page and website. She’s a writer, a knitter of sorts, a wife, and a mom. In addition, she’s a Twitter and Internet junkie and is always around to interact with her readers.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Dare to Love Series
Dare to Love (Dare to Love #1) – FREE!!!


New York Times Bestselling Author Carly Phillips turns up the heat in her newest sexy contemporary romance series, and introduces you to the Dare family… siblings shaped by a father’s secrets and betrayal.

Since finding out his father had another family on the side, Ian Dare swore to be the upstanding, responsible man his cheating parent had never been. When it comes to his relatives, he gives his all but in relationships he offers the bare minimum. But one glimpse of sensual Riley Taylor arouses his dominant and protective instincts and Ian is entranced. He will do anything to possess her … and does. But any future with Riley must include him extending an olive branch to the half-brother who is a constant reminder of the pain he’d rather forget.

Independent and always in control, Riley Taylor makes no apologies for choosing men carefully. Relationships have never been a priority and she believes herself hardened to domineering men – until she meets charismatic Ian Dare. He manages to turn a simple kiss into an all out assault on her senses and when he takes control in the bedroom, she’s stunned to discover she likes it. As their affair heats up, they soon realize they complete each other in ways neither imagined. But Riley’s past is closer than she cares to remember, and her struggles with Ian’s dominance might just cost her everything. 
Buy links:
Amazon Kindle:
B&N Nook:
Google Play:

As of December 1, 2009, According to The Federal Trade Commission (FTC),  product reviewers on blogs must disclose whether they received products for free or received payment for their review.
 The books I review on this site ( A Soccer Mom's Book Blog) are sent to us by publishers, authors or downloaded from Netgalley. This is a very common practice.  I never take payments for these reviews and all the reviews on this site are our own thoughts and feelings and are not influenced.

No comments:

Post a Comment