Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Book Review for Hearts on Thin Ice by Katie Kennedy

 Hearts on Thin Ice by Katie Kennedy 

Published June 18, 2024 by Alcove Press 

Genre:  Sports Romance 

 

 


Taken from Goodreads:
A pro hockey player falls for an interior designer in this charming debut sports romance. For fans of Icebreaker and Set On You, this flirty workplace rom-com explores mental health, belonging, and finding your way in the world. 
 
Nick Sorensen had once been one of the fastest men in hockey—until the devastating plane crash that took the lives of his best friends, leaving him the only survivor. Now he’s physically ready to get back on the ice, but his coach is concerned Nick isn’t doing as well, mentally, as he says he is. Case in Nick’s apartment is completely empty, apart from a single chair and a mattress on the floor. 
 
To prove he’s fine, really, Nick hires Alyssa Compton, an up-and-coming interior designer, to decorate his space. Alyssa’s thrilled at the chance to prove herself to her demanding boss—with job security at last, maybe she can finally put down roots and create a home for herself too. But Nick turns out to be infuriatingly stubborn and impossible to work with, and just when Alyssa decides to throw in the towel on the whole thing, Nick shows up for her in a way she never could have expected.   
 
The icy path ahead of these two lost souls may be slippery and cracking, but when it comes to love, sometimes all you need is someone on your team. 

 

My Thoughts:  Hearts on Thin Ice is a fun sports romance.  The book is easy to read with fun and quirky characters and a storyline that has a little depth but much more romance.   The loss of life, much less witnessing that loss first hand, is a touchy subject that Katie Kennedy handle with respect.   

I am a hockey fan so I could understand Nick’s hockey career and how hard it is to come back from an injury.  I cannot imagine how hard it is to watch people you love die a horrible death.   I love that Nick had so much support from his family, teammates, friends, and especially Alyssa.    Alyssa is the rock for him, she calls him out on his BS, she takes care of him when he needs it, and she falls head over heals for him.  They are perfect for each other.   

Thank you Alcove Press for a copy of the book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.  

 

Add to your MUST-READ list on Goodreads 

Purchase your own copy on Amazon 

Monday, June 17, 2024

Release Blitz for The Trouble with Players by J. Nathan

 


The Trouble with Players by J. Nathan is now live!



When my summer vacation is unexpectedly cut short, I have no choice but to return to the Cape Cod beach house where I’ve spent all of my summers. What I’m not expecting is for my bedroom to be taken over by Crew Burke, a college baseball player my family is hosting for the summer.


Crew may be a superstar on and off the field, but his charm is wasted on me. He thinks not giving up my room will push my buttons, but he has another thing coming. There’s nothing in this world that I hate more than baseball players, especially the ones who think they’re God’s gift to women. So, while other girls can be Crew’s one-night stand, I’ll never be with a baseball player. I despise them.



  Download today!

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3xw1WKe   

Apple Books: https://bit.ly/3xzYfmD  

Nook: https://bit.ly/3VVkqxF  

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3Jj8Uok  

Google Play: https://bit.ly/3Vjp6eV 


Goodreads: https://bit.ly/49t28qI 



A black and white sign with white text
 
 Description automatically generated  A black and white sign with white text
 
 Description automatically generated


Meet J. Nathan



J. Nathan is the author of new adult, sports, and rock star romances with cocky heroes and sassy heroines. When she's not writing, she's a crazy baseball mom and a total romance junkie! She loves country music, guys in backward hats, iced coffee, and the summertime.

 

Connect with J.

Website | http://www.jnathan.net/   

Goodreads | https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8202337.J_Nathan   

Amazon | http://amzn.to/2brF0xz    

Facebook | https://www.facebook.com/jnathanauthor     

Facebook Group |  bit.ly/JNathanReaderGroup     

Instagram http://instagram.com/jnathanauthor  

TikTok |  https://www.tiktok.com/@jnathanauthor    

Twitter |  https://twitter.com/@Jnathanbooks     

Bookbub |  https://www.bookbub.com/profile/j-nathan     

Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/jnathanbooks       

Newsletter |  http://eepurl.com/bYa6_L  

Book Blitz for Every Scar Tells a Story by Rayna York with a GIVEAWAY



 Every Scar Tells a Story 
by Rayna York

Publication date: June 15th 2024
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult

Synopsis:

They say time heals all wounds, but they never mention the scars left behind.

Serena McNeal, outgoing and ambitious, is ready to escape her small town as soon as she graduates high school. Knox prefers to live in the shadows, finding comfort in his anonymity. As their worlds collide and the ghosts of Knox’s troubled past resurface, more than their newly-created bond will be tested. Because now, every decision made could be the difference between sharing a future together or facing a reality where neither one survives.







AUTHOR BIO:
Rayna York grew up with hippie parents who liked to adventure. Where change was the norm, books were her constant—a way to escape. As an adult, many careers came and went, but writing has always been her passion. Her contemporary, coming-of-age love stories are often inspired by dreams, which she captures in her notebook with barely an eye open. When she’s not hidden away in her writing shack, Rayna enjoys playing pickleball, losing herself in a good book, or watching a movie. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway



Book Review for Middletide by Sarah Crouch

 

Middletide by Sarah Crouch

Published June 11, 2024 by Atria Books

Genre:  Thriller, Murder Mystery

 


Taken from Goodreads: 
In this gripping and intensely atmospheric debut, disquiet descends on a small town after the suspicious death of a beautiful young doctor, with all clues pointing to the reclusive young man who abandoned the community in chase of big city dreams but returned for the first love he left behind. Perfect for fans of All Good People Here and Where the Crawdads Sing


One peaceful morning, in the small, Puget Sound town of Point Orchards, the lifeless body of Dr. Erin Landry is found hanging from a tree on the property of prodigal son and failed writer, Elijah Leith. Sheriff Jim Godbout’s initial investigation points to an obvious suicide, but upon closer inspection, there seem to be clues of foul play when he discovers that the circumstances of the beautiful doctor’s death were ripped straight from the pages of Elijah Leith’s own novel.

Out of money and motivation, thirty-three-year-old Elijah returns to his empty childhood home to lick the wounds of his futile writing career. Hungry for purpose, he throws himself into restoring the ramshackle cabin his father left behind and rekindling his relationship with Nakita, the extraordinary girl from the nearby reservation whom he betrayed but was never able to forget.

As the town of Point Orchards turns against him, Elijah must fight for his innocence against an unexpected foe who is close and cunning enough to flawlessly frame him for murder in this scintillating literary thriller that seeks to uncover a case of love, loss, and revenge.

 

My Thoughts:  I cannot believe this is a debut book.   Sarah Crouch wrote a murder mystery that kept me guessing and turning pages wanting to find the next clue. 

I am a reader that follows the clues that a author lays out.  If I am told to turn left, I go left and do not even think about what happens if I go right.  So I followed the clues as they were laid out and made a few guesses (they are all wrong).   When the who-dun-it was solved, I was surprised but I loved it. 

Middletide is a great book.   I found the story easy to read and enjoyed the homesteading, the small-town setting, and the second-chance love connection.  

Thank you Atria Books for a copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

 

Add to your MUST-READ list on Goodreads

Purchase your own copy on Amazon

 


Meet the Author (taken from her website):
 Sarah Crouch is known for her accolades in the world of athletics as a professional marathon runner. Middletide is her debut novel, and is set in the Pacific Northwest where she was raised. 

 






 

Friday, June 14, 2024

Release Blitz for Come Break My Heart Again by C.W. Farnsworth

 


Come Break My Heart Again by C.W. Farnsworth is now live! 


The first time Ryder James broke my heart, I was fifteen and fearless.

The second time he broke my heart, I was eighteen and jaded.

Both times, I fell for him effortlessly.

Falling is easy.

Our landings are hard. Painful.

We were a sad song with a slow melody. Flowers with paper petals. Hidden letters with visible tears. A beautiful tragedy.

Except tragedies have endings. Our story just… stopped.

Seven years later, I still have more questions than answers. Questions I’m too proud to ask after almost a decade of silence. Answers he refuses to share, no matter how much time we’re forced to spend together.

Everything’s changed … except how I feel about him. And the recurring moments when I’m certain Ryder hasn’t forgotten our past either.

Can you forget your first?

Or are they destined to keep breaking your heart… over and over again?



  Download today or read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited


Amazon: https://amzn.to/3JdW0YF

Amazon Worldwide: https://mybook.to/CBMHA


Add to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/4arpmPf



Meet Charlotte



C.W. Farnsworth is the author of numerous adult and young adult romance novels featuring sports, strong female leads, and happy endings.

Charlotte lives in Rhode Island and when she isn't writing spends her free time reading, at the beach, or snuggling with her Australian Shepherd.

 

Connect with Charlotte


Website: https://authorcwfarnsworth.com  

Goodreads: https://bit.ly/485RndP 

Amazon: https://amzn.to/4agSCsy 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cwfarnsworth/   

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/cwfarnsworthbooks   

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorcwfarnsworth/     

TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@authorcwfarnsworth