Friday, March 18, 2016

The Girl from Ortec Books 1 & 2 by Amy Richie

Crashing Waves (The Girl from Ortec Book 1)

Kindle Edition, 95 pages
Published May 27th 2014 by Anchor Group Publishing

Meet Rani, servant of Ortec. Sixty years have passed since the great wave came, destroying the world as human kind knew it. The people living on the island-city of Ortec have their own way of life, their own way of surviving the endless water. Rani, a young earth walker who has never dared to dream of a different life, knows what is expected of her as the wife of the lawman. But then, one night changes everything. The night the pirates come. Without any warning, Rani is faced with a decision that no one on Ortec has ever had to make before. Shaking up the very foundation of the world they have so carefully rebuilt might just be the only choice Rani has.

Book Links

Black Dolphin (The Girl from Ortec Book 2)

Kindle Edition, 101 pages
Published September 21st 2014 by Anchor Group Publishing

Eight years have passed since Rani, servant of Ortec shook up her entire city by giving birth to an unwanted child. 
A strange sickness has come to Ortec, affecting the pregnant women. Rani finds herself locked in the safe room with seven other people to wait out the sickness. It’s on the day they open the door that the real mystery begins.
Ortec is empty. Completely empty. Where have all their people gone?
Then, to make things worse, a stranger soon comes to Ortec claiming he is there to save them. But this captain is no stranger to Rani. In fact, his eyes are very familiar. Frighteningly so.
Will Rani be forced to go with the captain Cyrus? And is he really there to save them or are his intentions more sinister?

Book Links

My Thoughts on this series….

I had to think about reading this series when Amy Richie asked me.   I hesitate, thought about it, and decided sure why not.     A few things that swayed me to say yes was that she asked me, the email was addressed to me and she commented on things I had on my blog,  the books are actually novellas, and I could get book 1 and book 2 at the same time so I could continue with the story.    The one thing I did not count on liking them so much that I am not anxious to get my hands on book3.   WATCH OUT Amy I will be stalking you until you release it!

This series so far is unique that book 1 ends and book 2 does not start until 8 years later.    You would think that would leave a gap in the story.  It most certainly does not.   It is the perfect timing, with the best characters, and a great flow of storyline.      Book 1 does an amazing job of letting the reader get to know the characters and caring about their future.   Book 2 brings that future to the reader and lets them catch up on all that has happen in that 8 year gap. 

The storyline is unique.    The setting is not normal for my reading, but I truly loved it.     I could picture the world as Amy described it, see the characters as they figured out how to keep alive, and feel their feelings as their world was shook and changing.      The pages seemed to fly through my hands as I had to keep reading to find out what happens next.   

I recommend checking out this series.   It is a series that has to be read in order.    I will be anxiously awaiting the third book in this series. 

No comments:

Post a Comment