Monday, June 15, 2020

Review for The Persuasion by Iris Johansen

The Persuasion

(Eve Duncan #26)


Iris Johansen 


June 2nd 2020 by Grand Central Publishing

When Eve Duncan's daughter, Jane MacGuire, becomes a killer's target, Jane must team up with longtime love interest Seth Caleb in this thrilling novel from the
#1 bestselling author of Smokescreen.

Forensic sculptor Eve Duncan and ex-Navy Seal Joe Quinn are about to give Seth Caleb their trust for the most important duty of his life: keeping their daughter, Jane, safe at any cost. Her talent as an artist has caught the attention of a brilliant psychopath with a violent past.

Seth, Jane's strongest ally and fiercest protector, is determined to keep her out of danger, but that becomes nearly impossible when Jane is forced to take matters into her own hands and confronts the madman who wants her for himself...and wants Seth Caleb dead.

As Jane and Seth chase down their blood-thirsty adversary, they also have to reckon with their own epic love story. Can they finally commit to a life together, no matter how uncertain? As the two come face to face with danger, one thing is made clear: it will take both of them to confront and defeat this evil.


My Thoughts…

I am a huge Eve Duncan fan, but this book is her daughter, Jane’s, story.    It is a story that I’ve been waiting for.  I have been craving more about this amazing girl, who had a rough start in life until she found an amazing family to love and protect her.     Her talents as an artist have been bragged about in past books, her love of Michael (her brother) has never been in doubt, and her attraction to Seth has been intriguing.    Persuasion is THE book that I have been waiting for. 

Jane has no idea that she has been being watched from afar by a mad man for quite some time.  In The Persuasion she finds out and that mad man decides that it is time to take steps towards making Jane his.     Of course, Seth must come riding in to keep her safe.   The relationship between Seth and Jane is so intense.   With their unique histories, their tough lives, and their fears of being hurt it cannot be easy.      All of that makes their relationship their own.   They know how much they can let each other in and how much they can allow themselves to love.   Their relationship is so strong, so true, and so real that it is one of my favorites throughout this series.   

 The fact that there is a mad man in this story brings in Eve and Joe, who are characters that must appear in each book in this series.  In true Eve and Joe style they come to show their love for both Michael and Jane.   They know that their children are unique and must not be taken for granted.   They let their children shine in their own talents and nurture them in ways that are special for each of them.    Eve and Joe are amazing parents, wonderful protectors, and shining examples of what a family should be.  


Persuasion is part of the Eve Duncan series, which is a wonderful series.   The wonderful part is that you can pick up any book in the series and start reading.   Each book has its own story, it's own ending, and is not contingent on stories that were told before it.    Some of the storylines carry over but Iris Johansen does an amazing job of giving enough back story to keep new and old readers up to date on what is happening.  

**Thanks to Grand Central Publishing and Staci Burt for a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.   

Add Persuasion to your MUST-READ list on Goodreads

Purchase your own copy on Amazon  or Barnes and Noble


Meet Iris Johansen

IRIS JOHANSEN is The New York Times bestselling author of Your Next Breath, The Perfect Witness, Live to See Tomorrow, Silencing Eve, Hunting Eve, Taking Eve, Sleep No More, What Doesn't Kill You, Bonnie, Quinn, Eve, Chasing The Night, Eight Days to Live, Blood Game, Deadlock, Dark Summer, Pandora's Daughter, Quicksand, Killer Dreams, On The Run, Countdown, Firestorm, Fatal Tide, Dead Aim, and more. And with her son Roy Johansen, she has coauthored The Naked Eye, Sight Unseen, Close Your Eyes, Shadow Zone, Storm Cycle, and Silent Thunder.

Johansen began writing after her children left home for college. She first achieved success in the early 1980s writing category romances. In 1991, Johansen began writing suspense historical romance novels, starting with the publication of The Wind Dancer. In 1996 Johansen switched genres, turning to crime fiction, with which she has had great success. She had seventeen consecutive New York Times bestsellers as of November 2006.

Johansen lives near Atlanta, Georgia, and is married. Her son, Roy Johansen, is an Edgar Award-winning screenwriter and novelist. Her daughter, Tamara, serves as her research assistant.



No comments:

Post a Comment